Zoom the image with mouse

Nobel Lectures in Literature, 1968-1980 (Nobel Lectures, Including Presentation Speeches and Laureate) Paperback

1 In stock
$3.00 $31.00

Store Name: Online Store
Product Condition: Good As New
Condition: Nil
Expiry date: Nil
Warranty date: Nil

Book Type: Non Fiction/Education/Reference

Equally important to our understanding of history and humanity are the great works of literature. The Nobel Prize for literature recognizes modern classics and the efforts of authors to bridge gaps between different cultures, time-periods and styles; the prizewinners between 1968 and 1980 are from four continents. These volumes are collections of the Nobel lectures delivered by the prizewinners, together with their biographies, portraits and presentation speeches for the period 1968 - 1980. Each Nobel lecture is based on the work that won the laureate his prize. New biographical data of the laureates, since they were awarded the Nobel prize, are also included. These volumes of inspiring lectures by outstanding individuals should be on everyone's bookshelf.Below is a list of the prizewinners during the period 1968 - 1980: (1968) Y KAWABATA -- for his narrative mastery, which with great sensitivity expresses the essence of the Japanese mind; (1969) S BECKETT - for his writing of him, which - in new forms for the novel and drama - in the destitution of modern man acquires his elevation of him; (1970) A SOLZHENITSYN -- for the ethical force with which he has pursued the indispensable traditions of Russian literature; (1971) P NERUDA -- for a poetry that with the action of an elemental force brings alive a continent's destiny and dreams; (1972) H BÖLL - for his writing of him which through its combination of a broad perspective on his time of him and a sensitive skill in characterization has contributed to a renewal of German literature; (1973) P WHITE -- for an epic and psychological narrative art which has introduced a new continent to literature; (1974) E JOHNSON -- for a narrative art, far-seeing in lands and ages, in the service of freedom; H MARTINSON -- for writings that catch the dewdrop and reflect the cosmos; (1975) E MONTALE -- for his distinctive poetry which, with great artistic sensitivity, has interpreted human values ​​under the sign of an outlook on life with no illusions; (1976) S BELLOW - for the human understanding and subtle analysis of contemporary culture that are combined in his work; (1977) V ALEIXANDRE -- for a creative poetic writing which illuminates man's condition in the cosmos and in present-day society, at the same time representing the great renewal of the traditions of Spanish poetry between the wars; (1978) IB SINGER -- for his impassioned narrative art which, with roots in a Polish-Jewish cultural tradition, brings universal human conditions to life; (1979) O ELYTIS - for his poetry which, against the background of Greek tradition, depicts with sensuous strength and intellectual clear-sightedness modern man's struggle for freedom and creativity; (1980) C MI≡OSZ -- who with uncompromising clear-sightedness voices man's exposed condition in a world of severe conflicts.
Nobel Lectures in Literature, 1968-1980 (Nobel Lectures, Including Presentation Speeches and Laureate) Paperback
You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered
Recently Viewed